Since the mid-2000s, it became clear that parallelism is an essential tool for improving computational throughput of modern systems. Recognizing this fact, researchers in various fields of Computer Science, such as computer architectures, databases, programming languages, networking, and operating systems, have made significant advances in the infrastructure needed for parallel computing. Thus, given this foundation, there is a need for research that provides simple and efficient algorithms and data structures for exploiting this parallel computing infrastructure for faster solutions to important problems.

The aim of this workshop is to provide a productive environment for researchers in algorithms and data structures to meet and work on open problems in parallel computing.

The workshop aims to achieve the following goals:

  • Engage researchers from the algorithms and data structures community in parallel computing research.
  • Provide time and space for collaborations that produce advances in the design of efficient parallel algorithms, leading to publications in premier algorithms conferences such as SODA, ICALP, ESA, SPAA, and PODC.
  • Promote research in provably-efficient algorithms for modern architectures (e.g., multicores, GPUs, distributed systems).
  • Promote development of efficient parallel data structures.

This invitation-only workshop will take place over five days, Monday through Friday, from 8:30am to 4pm, December 4-8, 2017, on the campus of the University of Hawaii at Manoa, in Honolulu, Hawaii. The focus of the workshop is on solving open problems and to promote new research collaborations (similar to the Bellairs Winter Workshop on Computational Geometry in Barbados).

While some invited participants will be given opportunities to present their work, presentations will be limited to two hour session each morning, with preference given to those who either propose open problems, introduce or describe models of computation conducive to algorithmic research for modern parallel architectures, or present new research directions. Late mornings and afternoons will be reserved for problem solving sessions. During this time, the participants will be free to form smaller groups, based on their research interests, and will work on solving open problems of their choice.

The workshop will take place in UH iLab on the University of Hawaii at Manoa campus, with space provided for small-group breakout sessions.

For more information about Accommodations and Transportation please see the Local Arrangements page.

  • Peyman Afshani, Aarhus University
  • Kunal Agrawal, Washington University in St. Louis
  • John Augustine, IIT Madras
  • Michael A. Bender, Stonybrook University
  • Jit Bose, Carleton University
  • Rezaul Chowdhury, Stonybrook University
  • Vida Dujmovic, University of Ottawa
  • Jeremy Fineman, Georgetown University
  • Michael T. Goodrich, University of California, Irvine
  • Mohammad Hajiaghayi, University of Maryland, College Park
  • John Iacono, New York University
  • Giuseppe Italiano, University of Rome "Tor Vergata"
  • Riko Jacob, IT University of Copenhagen
  • Rob Johnson, Stonybrook University
  • Tracy Kimbrel, National Science Foundation
  • Irina Kostitsyna, TU Eindhoven
  • Sam McCauley, IT University of Copenhagen
  • Ulrich Meyer, Goethe University of Frankfurt
  • Pat Morin, Carleton University
  • Ian Munro, University of Waterloo
  • Koji Nakano, Hiroshima University
  • Jesper Nielsen, Aarhus University
  • John Owens, University of California, Davis
  • Vijaya Ramachandran, University of Texas, Austin
  • Francesco Silvestri, University of Padova
  • Nodari Sitchinava, University of Hawaii at Manoa
  • Darren Strash, Colgate University
  • Robert Tarjan, Princeton University

Student Participants

  • Udit Agarwal, University of Texas at Austin
  • Saman Ashkiani, University of California, Davis
  • Kyle Berney, University of Hawaii at Manoa
  • Mohit Daga, KTH Royal Institute of Technology
  • Afton Geil, University of California, Davis
  • Yan Gu, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Yihan Gu, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Siddhartha Jayanti, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Benjamin Karsin, University of Hawaii at Manoa
  • Caleb Levy, Princeton University
  • Jayson Lynch, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Tobias Maier, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology
  • Prashant Pandey, Stonybrook University
  • Manuel Penschuck, Goethe University of Frankfurt
  • Shikha Singh, Stonybrook University